July 24, 2020

Watson Coleman, Blumenauer, Bonamici, 12 other Members of Congress Call for the Resignation of DHS Acting Secretary Wolf

Today, U.S. Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), a member of the House Committee on Homeland Security, delivered a letter signed by 15 Members of Congress, to Acting Secretary of Homeland Security calling on him to immediately resign from his position.  
Following the recent actions of unidentified federal agents in Portland, Oregon in which they disrupted lawful, constitutionally protected protests and appear to have violated the 1st, 4th, 5th, and 14th Amendment protections of citizens. The plans to expand these tactics to other cities without their invitation or permission is likewise unacceptable.  

“The actions of the Department of Homeland Security under the direction of Acting Secretary Wolf more closely resemble those of a despotic police state than law enforcement in a democracy with the rule of law,” said Congresswoman Watson Coleman. “These actions are just the latest in a line of horrific policies that have come out of DHS. There is no justification for them in a democracy. The Department of Homeland Security was formed after 9/11 to protect us from outside threats, not to be used as political enforcers against American citizens. Acting Secretary Wolf’s abuse of his office demands his resignation.”  

“After a career as a political hack and a longtime lobbyist for special interest clients, Chad Wolf went from orchestrating the Trump administration’s atrocious family separation policy to overseeing the kidnapping of protesters in Portland,” Congressman Earl Blumenauer said. “Clearly, he is not fit to lead the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and should resign immediately.” 

“Acting Secretary Chad Wolf has sent to Portland and continues to support federal agents who are committing acts of violence against Oregonians and violating their constitutional rights,” said Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici. “He and others in the Trump administration are exacerbating tensions and making our community less safe. He is woefully unfit to lead a federal agency and must resign.”

The letter was signed by the following Members of Congress:  
Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-1), Rep. Earl Blumenauer (OR-03), Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01), Rep. Alcee L. Hastings (FL-20), Rep. Jared Huffman (CA-02), Rep. Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Rep. Gwen Moore (WI-04), Rep. Mark Pocan (WI-02), Rep. Donald Payne, Jr. (NJ-10), Rep. Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Rep. Kathleen M. Rice (NY-04), Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), Rep. Albio Sires (NJ-08), Rep. Norma J. Torres (CA-35), Rep. Nydia M. Velázquez (NY-07)

It can be viewed here.